top of page

Why My Mom is Wonder Woman

There's a special lady in most people's lives that has been around through it all. She was the first person you made eye contact with. She's been the one to care for you when you were throwing up out of your nose. She was the one who you trusted with that big secret that your dad or other siblings could never know about. This person is your mom.

My mom and I have had a typical mother-daughter relationship for most of my life. When I was little, she was always there when I scraped my knees up. She was always there when I was crying about my older sisters holding me down and tickling me (and writing obscene words on my stomach when I was sleeping). My mom was, and still is, my protector. My security blanket. My friend. I was, and still am, her baby. Her world. Her friend.

When I got older, though, her long hours at work really took a toll on our relationship. I missed out on a lot of quality bonding time we should have had because of her crazy hours. I fell back on my dad a lot, but he didn't quite understand the changes that were happening in my life and to my body. My sisters are roughly nine years older than me and already out of the house by the time I hit puberty, so essentially, I was alone. I felt like my mom didn't really care about my life, and I resented her for that. I guess this kind of helped my relationship with my ailing father, but it was the relationship with my mother that I craved so much and I never really got that. I would watch my friends interact with their moms and be utterly green with jealousy. Why didn't I have that?

The thing I didn't realize about this period of my life (and on into college for a bit) was that my mother was really saving my life. She had her own problems and her own demons to deal with, but she quite literally risked her life every day to put a roof over my head and food in my stomach. When I was in high school and my father's health was declining (read about that here), I watched my mom swoop in and give her best efforts in taking care of him, while also trying to be my mother. Of course, I don't resent her or have negative feelings towards her for putting more effort towards my father (I mean come on, that's her best friend).

Once I moved out of my house in August of 2013, I think that our relationship grew a bit stronger. The saying goes that distance makes the heart grow fonder. I truly believe that with me and my mom. I like the fact that I can be away from her but we still text almost every day, we still share funny videos with each other on Facebook, and I can come over any time when I just need some advice (or food...mostly food).

I really respect my mother. I respect the fact that while she was taking care of my dad and dealing with everything else going on in her own life, she still found the time to be my cheerleader. I can't tell you how happy it made me feel that when I was on stage at a choir concert, I could look out and see her face (usually crying). I think that I appreciate that more than anything. Even now, she shares all of my writing and all of my music that I make on my YouTube channel. She always asks to hear me sing when I go home, even though I usually say no. I just love that she really has been supporting me through everything that I have ever done, even when it felt like she wasn't.

I guess what I'm really trying to say is this: my mother is Wonder Woman. Not because she feeds me all the time or that she sends me funny cat videos (although I do like those things), but because she is a strong woman. A really strong woman. I don't think I have ever met a woman who has had more obstacles thrown at her and has STILL had a smile on her face. Yes, life is hard. Yes, life gets messy. Yes, sometimes it feels like the world is absolutely against you. But for me, the one person to remind me that it will all be okay is my mom, and that's how I will always want it.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page